Let’s get this show on the road…..


Hey everyone! I am VERY excited to get this blog started, as I have been thinking about starting one for quite some time now. I am actually trying to think how I should begin, whether I should tell you about myself and bore you about my life, or if I should only sum up the last year or so. I have a feeling that B sounded much better to anyone reading this because if you are reading this you are most likely a pretty good friend of mine, strictly reading for support. So thank you for being such great friends!

Lets rewind to my junior year of high school..(only for a second, I promise!)

One morning in September of my junior year of high school, I woke up and said to myself “I want to be a dietician.” I had no idea, at the time, how to go about that, and after a bit of research, I came across Johnson and Wales University and their new, yet well known bachelor’s degree for nutrition. Reading on, I discovered that after the first 2 years I would get my associate’s degree in CULINARY and then move on…”Wait…culinary? Like…cooking?” (I was a huge fan of the word like back then). I was soon reminiscing on the endless memories of food and the roles they constantly played in my life that I never realized before. Such as how I stopped ordering off the kids menu by age 5 and how fascinated I was that it only took two ingredients of olive oil and garlic to permeate the entire house with a smell that meant there were great things coming my way. Johnson and Wales was the only school I applied to, I got in, and here I am.

In May of 2010 I will be graduating with my associates degree in culinary arts and the passion I have grown for cooking and food in general has not stopped. Not even close. Which brings to me to this food blog I am starting. The fact that I love cooking more than I thought possible has struck a complete change in my future. I knew that I did NOT see myself owning my own restaurant in the future for 2 reasons:

  1. Having my own family someday and actually SEEING my family is very important to me.
  2. I am way. too. sensitive.

What else do you love to do, Sam? Well….I love to cook, obviously. And…I thoroughly enjoy writing. Hey Sam, it looks like Food Journalism is the perfect major for you! So, long story short, they have an advanced studies program at the FCI (French Culinary Institute) in New York City called “The Craft of Food Writing“. My mom and I booked a tour with them for Monday, November 23rd, which happens to be the day after the Philadelphia Half Marathon that I am running in! I have a lot of questions to ask them, as far as their degrees, transferred credits, and so on, but for now I am very excited at the idea and find that starting a food blog and writing as much as I can would be a great way to get started.

Tomorrow starts Day 1 of my last lab for the trimester, International Cuisine. I am pretty sure every day is a new country and we’re going to Greece, Morocco, India, Italy, and more! Only 9 more days of getting up at 5 am! I will be sure to take my camera and bring you through my journey of International Cuisine to give you an idea of a lab at Johnson and Wales.

I hope that was not too rough. And I would also like to throw out there that I am very open to questions, comments, suggestions, on ANYTHING that I discuss on here. Okay, well I am off to the gym. Bye!

3 Comments

Filed under The Beginning

3 responses to “Let’s get this show on the road…..

  1. Hey, I decided to make my own going through my journey as a culinary student too hahah. Good luck in the new unit. And it’s cool that you’re looking to get into a new media in food other than just typical restaurant service. I wish you luck and hope everything works out.

  2. rhodeygirltests

    Congratulations Sam!

    I look forward to reading your adventures.

  3. Fred: Thanks for all your support! Good luck to you too!

    Sabrina: Thanks for the congrats. It was YOU who inspired me to get this started!

Leave a Reply

