Day 9- Of course, you have to end with Mexico.


The last few minutes of class this afternoon were hard to bare. I was anxiously staring at the ticking clock like in Britney Spears’ “Hit Me Baby One More Time” music video (I am sorry, I have had starbucks and that is the first simile that came to mind). I could not wait to get out of there, get to the airport, and GET HOME. Of course, though, instead of my flight being at 2:40 it is at 4:40, due to air traffic. That just sounds so silly to me, I mean come on. There is A LOT of air out there, I am pretty sure we could all fit.

Anyway, after aggressively calling and texting those who would be concerned without a “just landed” text around 3:30 later, I sipped down my latte, sat in a wonderfully comfortable black leather chair that was asking for my bottom, pulled out my laptop, and here I am. I always feel extremely nosey in an airport. I find myself constantly trying to look at other people’s tickets to see where they are going and I like to wonder what they are going to be doing at their final destination.

Today was a pretty smooth day. We took our written final first thing and then got right to work. I was not really assigned any dish so I just helped out a few people chopping, peeling, dicing, tidying for the first hour or so and then labored over the dish sink for the rest of class. As I said before, I cannot stand a messy sink station, so I really did not mind it, and it certainly made the day seem to go by much faster.

Jeremey was making a spicy side dish with corn and chayote squash.I think they are so cute. They remind me of a cute old grandmother puckering up to give her grandkids a big kiss. They are quite the combination of other foods because the inside looks almost like a pear with a seed that needs to be removed, but when eaten raw it tastes starchy like a potato, but light and cumcumbery/zucchiniy in flavor.

There was a lot of green going on today, as my friend Ligia was working with tomatillos, or green tomatoes.

They are adorable little green tomatoes that have a very sour, almost apple flavor going on. They make for great salsa’s and sauce, and obviously add a great deal of beautiful color. Here is what came of Ligia’s delicious chicken dish with tomatillos:

She garnished it with some fresh cilantro and chopped avocado. More green! I absolutely LOVE guacamole, but that is the only way I can get that good fat in me. I think it is a textural problem I have when I eat avocado by itself, but with the lime, onion, and garlic mixed altogether and put on a tortilla chip, I am all for it.

Speaking of tortilla’s, Jordan was in charge of the tortilla chips for the variety of salsa’s the class made today. She first made a dough with lard, a special type of corn flour, salt, and either baking powder or corn starch (I am sorry I cannot remember). She rolled them out the way you would pound out a cutlet of meat in between two sheets of plastic wrap, cooked them on the flat top griddle, then deep fried them.

Although my lab has had its ups and downs over the past 2 and a half months, I am still going to miss (some) students, and I wish the best of luck to all those going on to their internship for the winter trimester! It has not really hit me yet that I have just completed my sophomore year labs, but I am sure by the weekend it will. Now I can put all my focus towards Thanksgiving. My favorite holiday :). Cannot wait!

What are your Thanksgiving plans?

Normally I like to keep these pictures to myself, but being that it is the end, I would like to display some of the goofiest, funniest, most sarcastic, classmates I am deeply going to miss!

NOW SOMEBODY PLEASE MAKE THIS PLANE GET HERE FASTER!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under International Cuisine

Leave a Reply

