RED ALERT!!! GUACAMOLE EMERGENCY!!


Before I get into my desperate need of guacamole last night, I would sadly like to inform you that I was unable to run in the Philly Half Marathon this morning. A series of hyperextensions on the same knee that I have had 3 surgeries on caused me to surrender. I knew it was best and that the sad feeling I had last night would be nothing compared to a possible serious injury from racing this morning. It happens, but there are so many races ahead of me to look forward to and RUN!

Anyway, last night I was driving with my mom when all of the sudden I had an intense craving. I have never had one before quite like this and 10 feet before the turn into Acme I screamed for my mom to turn, and she did (God bless her). She did not even get out of the car. I sprang from my seat, walked very fast (I knew I would look crazy if someone saw me running towards avocados), picked up 5 avocados, fresh cilantro, 1 small red onion, and blue corn tortilla chips. I was on a mission.

Guacamole is one of those “marinara” type recipes where there are so many different ways of making it. Way back in the summer I remember skimming through different recipes and it was amazing how different they all were! Some asked for tomatoes, some did not, some used jalapenos, some used serrano chiles, some used cumin, some used worcestershire, some used lemons instead of limes! The possibilities are endless when it comes to making guacamole, which I love about it, and it is so quick and easy, which I especially loved about it last night.

First things first. Who came up with that expression? Obviously the first thing is first. One of the very first lessons I ever learned at Johnson and Wales University was putting a damp paper towel under your cutting board to prevent it from slipping and sliding and you from cutting and bleeding. It is simple, takes 2 minutes, and trust me, it makes a HUGE difference.


Here is all of my ingredients:

Red Onion: I like it because it is a little more tame than a white or yellow onion, and it also adds that cute purple color to your dish. šŸ™‚

Two solid cloves of garlic. Sammy loves garlic. 99% of the time I will add 1 more than whatever recipe I am reading asks for, and since I made this my own I could do whatever I want. So HA.

I nice handful of cilantro. Cilantro is used A LOT in Mexican cooking. It is one of those herbs, like rosemary, that people either love or hate. It has almost a soapy aroma to it, but adds a great deal of flavor in salsas, dressings, and, of course, guacamole.

FUN FACT: Did you know that coriander is the seed of the cilantro plant?

Kosher Salt. I absolutely love kosher salt and use it so much I can barely stand iodized. It has a much larger grain size, and if you love salt as much as I do, this is perfect for you. Why? It takes a lot more kosher salt than iodized to develop the same “saltiness”, so if you used to over-salt with iodized, you are most likely to make it perfect with kosher. Did that make sense?

Fresh cracked black pepper. Always. No questions asked.

My mom had these canned tomatoes leftover in the fridge, and being that tomatoes are not at all in season but I love them in my guac, I decided to throw those in there too.

Do not judge me. I know it is always better to use fresh, but lime juice is lime juice, and we did not have any fresh limes. I put a lot in my guacamole. I love lime.

And of course….AVOCADO!

I love working with avocados because when they are at their peak of ripeness, they are very cooperative. They slice easy, the pit can be taken out with your fingers, and they chop and come out great. Here is how I cut my avocado which keeps it less messy and extremely convenient.

Take your knife and do slices lengthwise along the entire avocado half. You do not want to cut all the way through. You should be able to feel the knife on the skin which is as far as you should go. Then make those same slices width-wise so you create your own little avocado checkerboard:

From there it gets so easy. Just take a spoon, and it will come out in those perfect little avocado cubes that are begging me to pick them up with my tortilla chip.

I realized I forgot to get any sort of heat mechanism (jalapeno, etc). So, I just opted to add a good 10 dashes of tabasco sauce, and it was DELICIOUS! What a perfect dinner for my mom and I while the rest of the family was out of the house. Lovely!

Would you like some?

4 Comments

Filed under Guacamole

4 responses to “RED ALERT!!! GUACAMOLE EMERGENCY!!

  1. Christine

    yummy šŸ™‚

  2. Jenna

    lOOKS AMAZING!! One of my most favorite things ever…

  3. yum! that guacamole looks amazing! Thanks for the step by step photos too! I love your blog!

  4. Jesse

    yes. i would like some. please and thank you. ha i miss you sam!

Leave a Reply

