APOLOGY PART ONE


Okay. Obviously I have been completely MIA lately and I can promise you that I will NEVER go that long without updating my blog EVER AGAIN!!!! Let’s face it, the holidays are hectic! This was my first experience dealing with a blog and the holidays at the same time so cut me some slack here, I’m learning. I am sure we can ALL relate to the endless locations all over this way and that in which you HAVE to be or else EVERYONE will kill you!!!!

I have good news, though. After I can get out every piece of information I can about my first VERY LONG day working at the Napa Valley Grille, I can then blog (with pictures!) a couple treats I made for that insanely calorie-filled holiday that happened last Thursday. For now, however, it is time to enter the LIFE OF AN INTERN:

  1. First of all, the main piece of information that you need to keep in mind whenever faced with an experience such as this is that you are the lowest end of the totem pole.
  • Luckily for me I was very shy and not confident enough to even think to ask if I could even go get a cup of water until the Sous chef Dan asked if I was thirsty. That was kind of a joke in that Dan is very nice and definitely would have let me get one earlier had I asked. I was just too nervous to do anything but what I was told.

2. Regardless of how you feel about a certain task, be like nike and just do it.

  • When it comes down to it, you are wasting more time telling yourself what you would rather do, considering the original task is still waiting there rolling its imaginary fingernails at you until it is finished.

3. THINK BEFORE YOU ACT!

  • You are not the authority. I made a mistake with this tonight. I was feeling great near the end of my shift, I got complements on all of my knife cuts and I was on Cloud 9 dreaming of how great this internship is going to go. I was asked to get the preparation finished for tomorrows mushroom stock so I had to take the stems off the portobello mushrooms (3 cases to be exact) and scoop out the black lining underneath known as the “gills”. After tossing the stems and spooning out the gills, I threw down the spoon in excitement of being finished and asked, “What is next chef?”. He replied, “where’s the stems?”. I looked down into the trash can. The trash can started laughing at me.  Dan rolled his eyes as he asked me to wrap, label, and put them back into the walk in refrigerator. I wanted to curl into a ball and sit in the corner.

4. EAT BEFORE YOU GO TO WORK!

  • You might have a different idea in your head right now as to why that is a bad idea (eating every single thing in sight). But, being that I was nervous and excited this morning for my first day, I had my cup of coffee, got ready, and headed to work. As I said before I was very shy and literally WOULD NOT LET MYSELF EAT ANYTHING! I got into work at 9 and around 2 I just thought I was going to fall onto the floor, when the lovely line cook Alphono came up to me and asked if I was hungry. With the biggest smile imaginable I replied “YES!” and that beautiful Alphonoian soul made me an absolutely delicious salmon burger and organic greens salad. The burger was so moist and flavorful and the salad had grapes, walnuts, apples, and a white wine vinaigrette dressing that was absolutely delightful. I was almost embarrassed at how quickly I scarfed it down, but luckily, I do not think anyone saw me. Definitely eating before I go in tomorrow!

Trust me, just follow these 3 guidelines and you are well on your way to becoming a great chef. It was a very long first day. I think this is going to be an amazing experience for me and  an even GREATER start to that kitchen resume of mine :).

P.S. I told Dan about my blog and asked if it would be alright for me to bring in my camera and take pictures and he said sure! I cannot wait to take all of you into my journey and the ups and downs it is going to bring 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under Napa Valley Grille Internship

Leave a Reply

