The Greatest Vanilla Cupcakes Ever.


I came across this recipe last Easter. I wanted to make cupcakes from scratch and I am forever grateful for choosing this recipe because it is perfect to me every time. The resulting cupcake is dense, rich, and there is so much vanilla flavor bursting out of them you could feel like you are existing in some kind of vanilla world.

Here is the recipe:

  • 2 2/3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/3 cups cake flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine salt

God bless the Food Network Kitchens.

Okay, here we go. First thing I had to do was cream together the butter and sugar.For this recipe I did everything by hand. Sure we have a hand mixer and a kitchen-aid in my kitchen, but I only like to use them when absolutely necessary. Today, I was in the best baking mood and wanted to use nothing but my touch to them. They did not have mixers back in the day so to me that meant I could do it! 🙂

I then continued to add the rest of the wet ingredients to my creamy butter and sugar.

Now, DO NOT BE SCARED. Between all the eggs, the milk, and the water, the following is what the outcome is:

Kinda looks like scrambled eggs right? Please, do not rush to your local bakery and buy some pre-made cupcakes in lieu of feeling defeated. This is exactly what it is supposed to look like, and trust me, after all the dry ingredients are added it comes out to be a smooth, thick, rich, finger licking batter.

Much better. I tried to demonstrate exactly how thick this batter is. It is far from the consistency of a box mix. When the batter itself has stiff peaks, you know it is going to create great things.

I do not know about you, but I am not exactly the cleanest of bakers. I find myself constantly wiping away this and that to keep my area clean. Especially when it comes to spooning muffin or cake batter into tins I find that half of my batter ends up on around the area in which the batter is supposed to go. Today, as I said, I was in Mrs. Claus baking mode and thought it would be a good idea to put the batter in a pastry bag and pipe the batter into the tins!

Let me just make a quick shout of to my awesome father. Last year he bought me these really fantastic pastry bags and tips. I really do love baking, and after I made him sticky buns, I think he loved it too. These pastry bags are really great. Thanks, Dad 😀

That is how you know the batter is thick. You can see the details of my piping!!

I threw those suckers into the oven and got started right away on the icing. I knew the icing was going to be a little bit of challenge (I like challenges), but I did not know that it would require, at one point, my mom, my dad, and me all holding the same bowl at the same time!

It started off combining sugar and water in a saucepan and boiling until it turned clear. Then, thanks to the help of my parents, I had to slowly pour the sugar mixture into a whipped egg white mixture which turned it slowly into an icing mixture. Then, of course, I added lots of butter. Happy Thanksgiving.

It is very difficult to see, but on top of some vanilla extract, I also added my own special touch. I split a vanilla bean in half and added the seeds to the icing to put those adorably little black specks throughout the icing.

Here is how I finished them!!

(Do not be frightened, that is my dad’s hand. Not mine. 🙂 )

I added a little sprinkling of yellow sugar and a few chocolate chips to attempt to make them look like Thanksgiving.

I brought them over to the boy’s house for dessert and everyone loved them. It made me so happy.

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving!

3 Comments

Filed under Vanilla Cupcakes

3 responses to “The Greatest Vanilla Cupcakes Ever.

  1. Sammyroo's Dad

    Hey, what’s wrong with my hands that you have to be embarassed?? Great post – we were so happy that you were home to celebrate Thanksgiving with us!

  2. hahahaha I just did not want anyone to think I had man hands!!

  3. Kelly

    did you make that piping bag? I am glad you learned cus I was sick of doing it for you!!!!!!! J/K love yaa

Leave a Reply

