Fried Eggs with Prosciutto and Goat Cheese Thyme Butter


This is really exciting. Although it is very simple and easy to make, this blog entry entails my VERY FIRST RECIPE I INVENTED ALL ON MY OWN!!!!!! 😀 I was smiling the entire time I made this because of how thrilled I was to share this with you!

First of all, let me just share with you how much I enjoy coming home. Not only am I happy to be with my family, but there is one other thing in particular that I love about it. The ingredients that are in the kitchen. Being a college student without a car makes it very difficult to have fresh herbs, nice cheeses, and other ingredients laying around the kitchen on a daily basis. My mom cooks a lot so there is always so much for me to work with, and I thought I’d start off the first morning of my winter break right with a great breakfast. Oh wait, it’s 2:00 p.m……….you can have eggs for lunch right?

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon Fresh Thyme Leaves

2 Tablespoons Goat Cheese

1/2 Tablespoon Butter, plus a little more for egg frying

2 Eggs

Kosher Salt/ Fresh Ground Pepper

2 Slices Prosciutto

Method of Preparation:

  1. Chop the thyme leaves very roughly (they are so tiny as it is).
  2. In a small bowl, combine the goat cheese and 1/2 tablespoon of butter and combine until the two come together and form a creamy consistency. Add thyme, mix thoroughly, and set aside.
  3. In a saucepan, add about 1 tablespoon to butter, and on moderately low heat, crack egg into saucepan, season with salt and pepper, and as soon as the edges start to brown, flip. Repeat with 2nd egg.
  4. To plate: top each egg with slice of prosciutto and dollop with goat cheese butter. Enjoy!

I ❤ thyme.

Here is the butter, goat cheese, and thyme mixture.

I am very weird about my eggs. Even though I love the runny yolk to dip my toast in, I cannot STAND any sign of undercooked whites. If you ever find yourself in a situation involving you cooking me eggs, just keep that in mind. I think it’s a textural problem for me. Usually any food I dislike, which is rare, has a weird texture that I have trouble getting past.

You probably cannot even notice but I sprinkled a little paprika on top to try to make it look nice. Also, about the prosciutto: I lovelovelove prosciutto…uncooked. To me, when prosciutto gets cooked it is too salty for me and ruins the flavors of everything else. Prosciutto uncooked, however, bring it on.

I hope you enjoyed my first recipe!!

1 Comment

Filed under Fried Eggs w/ Goat Cheese Thyme Butter

One response to “Fried Eggs with Prosciutto and Goat Cheese Thyme Butter

  1. Wes

    wow i want to make this, in fact im going to make this.

Leave a Reply

