My Dad’s Phenomenal Christmas Cookies.


Let’s take a trip down memory lane shall we?

For as long as I can remember, my dad has whipped out the apron around the holiday season. He rarely cooks during any other time of the year, besides some tasty pancakes here and there, but Christmas time means it is time for dad to buckle down and get baking. What kinds of cookies does he make? No, it is not just one. 8. 8 Different varieties of melt-in-your-mouth goodness that I purposely save up a weeks worth of calories for. If you are not drooling yet, here is just a little sample platter:
That’s right…. breathe it in. Lets start from the top center (the sparkly red one) and work our way clockwise:

  1. Snickerdoodles: This is the only cookie that my dad does not refrigerate before baking (he usually refrigerates the doughs). A thick sugar-type cookie rolls its way in plate of festive red and white coarse sugar along with cinnamon, baked off, and is so amazing. The coarse sugar gives the outside a great texture as you bite into it and the cake-like inside just makes it all work.
  2. Gingerbread: This cookie has made its way into the tradition for the past few years now. Before, my dad made a sugar cookie with crushed peppermint candy, but when it comes down to it, what’s Christmas without gingerbread??? He cuts them super thick, and my job has always been to decorate. In fact, I came home to a few containers filled with un-iced gingerbread cookies waiting for me to attack. Yay.
  3. Chocolate Walnut: These. Are. My. Absolute. Favorite. They almost have a brownie-like texture to them, but the huge hunks of walnuts are what make me smile really big. One year, I actually asked him to make me those for my 16th birthday, but as amazing as they are, they just did not taste the same as they do around the holidays. My dad’s Chocolate Walnut cookies are my weakness and, simultaneously, my gym motivation.
  4. Oatmeal (The next 2 piles are Oatmeal): These are runner up for my favorite. As much as I love oatmeal cookies, I really do not care for Oatmeal Raisin. My dad accepts my decision and makes Oatmeal Walnuts instead and they are SO GOOD. I gotta say, opening the tin full of these delightful cookies creates this whiff that enters your nose and just says, “Hey, I’m delicious. Enjoy me.”
  5. Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip: My dad just happened to come across this recipe a couple years ago and makes them in addition to the classic chocolate chip. The difference? Oatmeal powder. Oatmeal blended up practically as soft as flour and is used as part of the “flour” ingredient. Along with more walnuts, the oatmeal powder gives this cookies a nutty flavor. These are so decadent. As soon as I got home I explored the fridge for the dough that I knew was waiting for me, I took a bite, and was in heaven. I am such a sucker for dough of ANY kind.
  6. Chocolate Chip: There’s nothing I need to explain about this cookie. They are delicious.

That enormous gingerbread snowflake, however, is covering up the most traditional, classic cookie that my dad creates so perfectly. Family from all over ask my dad for a bag of specifically these cookies because of there flaky, buttery outside and cinnamon-sugared-enjoyable center. My friends, welcome to cinnamon twists:

I just had to take a bite out of one to show you the inside. I had to. For informational purposes:

Cinnamon, sugar, chopped walnuts. That’s all you need to know.

Do you know what these are? That’s right, pizzelles. Traditionally made with anise flavors makes them quite unappealing to me, so being the great man that my dad is, he also makes plain vanilla. The shape comes from a pizzelle maker, very similar to a waffle iron. They go great with your morning coffee.

That’s about it, folks. I’m sure you could all make what my dad does very well, but I have to say, to me, they would never taste the same. I love my dad’s Christmas cookies.

7 Comments

Filed under Christmas Break 2009

7 responses to “My Dad’s Phenomenal Christmas Cookies.

  1. all these cookies look great! I didn’t know your dad was an expert cookie baker!!!!

  2. Sammyroo's Dad

    As with many things around the holidays, it is really the tradition that makes the cookies seem so good. Thanks for the love Sam – I feel all warm and fuzzy inside now!

  3. simplyjeremeytjr

    Hola Sammyroo! Here I ammmm!

  4. dads cookies are the best…its a shame i can only try one of each a year hahah

  5. Lisa Arthur

    Dad’s cookies are the VERY best! Seeing these pictures made me realize I did not eat nearly enough to keep me satisfied until next Christmas! :o(

  6. Lisa Arthur

    Dad’s cookies are the VERY best and seeing these photos makes me realize I did not eat nearly enough to remain satisfied until next Christmas!

Leave a Reply

