My Future.


Before I even went to Johnson and Wales, I had it in my head that I was going there for four years and graduating with my Bachelors Degree in nutrition and that would be that. I had a rough time adjusting to college life during my freshman year and wanted very badly to transfer, not even thinking of my career in mind. My parents had none of that because they knew it was, well, stupid, and I am so happy they did because I realized now that they were right.

This year, however, a lot changed. I feel as though I have grown up more in the past 6 months than I ever have in my whole life. I fell in love with cooking and I started to enjoy the thought of food writing. As I have said before, I knew that I would never want to own my own restaurant someday because of the time it takes away from all other future commitments (family, husband, etc.). I felt as though food writing was the way to go for me because I love food so much and have so much passion for it that I would do anything to try and exemplify my feelings to someone else who does not. I hope that with my words (and pictures) I am beginning to do just that. There is just one problem: Johnson and Wales does not have courses that would benefit my career choice.

Johnson and Wales has started a new culinary Bachelors program called “concentration”. It’s a little confusing, but you are basically narrowing down your field to a specific aspect of your culinary degree. The only “concentration” I was/would be interested in is Sommelier. A Sommelier, according to wikipedia, is a trained and knowledgeable wine professional, commonly working in fine restaurants, who specializes in all aspects of wine service including food and wine matching. As nice as that sounds, that would not benefit my career and would be a waste of A LOT of money.

Around Thanksgiving my mom and I took a fun trip to New York City to visit the French Culinary Institute. The FCI is a very small school (the entire school is in one building), but has an ENORMOUS reputation. Jacques Torres is one of the Deans there, for cryin’ out loud, and if you know anything about ANYTHING about food you are probably getting some sort of goose-bump feeling just hearing that name. Bobby Flay went to the FCI. If there was anyone in the whole world that I could meet, it would hands down be Bobby Flay. Before Johnny Depp even!! Anyway, they have a Craft of Food Writing course there, and at the time I was very excited at the idea of going there, but after thinking it over for a while, I realized I would be re-learning a lot of what I have already been taught at Johnson and Wales. Again, a waste of A LOT of money. So, that idea was also thrown out the window.

Finally, after months of stress, my parents and I have came to a decision that, for the first time since college, we are all on the same page for. I have officially decided that after I graduate in May with my Associates Degree in Culinary Arts, I am going to get myself a full time line cook job at a restaurant either in South Jersey or Philadelphia, stay home, and take Journalism/Writing courses either at Rutger, Rowan, Drexel, etc. I haven’t decided on which school yet, but I am already feeling so happy with my decision and am so relieved that I can take this stress off my shoulders. :D!!!!!!!!!!

Well, I guess that’s it. I’m off tomorrow so I will tell you all about my day today! Now, it’s time to get this annoying illness under control…..

4 Comments

Filed under My Future.

4 responses to “My Future.

  1. simplyjeremeytjr

    I’m having the same problem, I don’t know what to do! 😦 I looked at the FCI too…the class itself is approximately $2,000, but I don’t know for how long, do you? If it can be done in a summer, I may do that. I don’t knowwwww!

    • If you go there, including housing, it’s 40,000. You can choose between a 6 month or 9 month program I have this huge brochure all about it I could give you if you want because I’m not going there!

  2. Lisa Arthur

    SAMANTHA! Congratulations and figuring it all out. What a wonderful food writer AND chef you will be! You must feel like the weight of the world has been lifted at making such a huge decision. I am so proud of you……………..as always!

    XO

    • Hey Aunt Lisa…..I really do feel SO much better about everything now that I have it all figured out. Also, it feels even greater knowing that my parents are just as happy about it as I am! Now…about those Virginia culinary schools…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

