Back to School for SammyRoo


Wow, it has certainly been quite a while since I last updated my blog. I suppose between the utter shock of the restaurant closure, the last minute stressful plans to go home, and my lovely trip out to Arizona, I decided to take full advantage of my “Spring Break”. I wanted to take the time I had off to clear my mind and relax. Now, I am back to textbooks, notebooks, and, let’s face it, reality.

I feel as though I have so much that we need to catch up on! Let’s play a little game called “Past, Present, and Future”. The Rules: I tell you 3 things about my past (my Spring Break), what’s going on now, and what I’m going to be doing in the near future. I am just making this up off the top of my head, and I am aware that this is a game all about me, but hey, just go with it.

PAST:

  1. For my Valentine’s Day present to the boy, we went to this incredibly romantic restaurant in Phoenix called Coup des Tartes. The entire restaurant was the size of a small house, it was completely lit by candles, the water was served in wine bottles, and the menu had just 6 entrees to choose from. The price was a bit hight, but between the utter decadence of the food and the slow-paced, quiet atmosphere, it was completely worth it.
  2. The boy is very into road-biking, so one day we went to Tempe Bicycle, rented me a road bike, and off we went on a 30 mile bike ride. It was very exhausting, more or less from my end, but felt great afterwards. Mostly, though, it was a great activity for us to do together. I am looking forward to doing a more difficult trail next time I am out there!
  3. The weather, for the most part, was absolutely beautiful. 70-75 degrees, sunny, and a warm breeze was all it took to get the summer excitement I had tucked away to begin to peek its head out. It is unbelievable to me how drastic your mood is affected by the weather. I could not stop smiling :).

PRESENT:

  1. This was the first week of my last trimester at Johnson and Wales University. I organized my classes so that I have all of them on Tuesdays and Thursdays, from 7:10 to 3:30. The days are long, but I am extremely focused on ending my last year here with straight A’s. The classes I am currently taking are: Menu Planning and Cost Control, Advanced Composition, Introduction to Nutrition, and Leadership.
  2. Although I have off from school every day except Tuesday and Thursday, I fully intend to make the most of my free time. Other than getting my homework done, I will be working on my resume and applying to as many restaurants I can get my hands on until I find a kitchen job for the summer. All of my remaining free time will be spent in the gym and running outside. I am scheduled to run in the COX Providence Half Marathon on May 2nd and I am so excited to crack down on my training and beat my last year’s time by at least 20 minutes!
  3. What’s next for my blog? That, as of now, is undecided, but I know that I will not stop writing. I am thinking about discussing common food topics, debates on certain foods, restaurant critiques, as well as continuing to come up with some of my own recipes. Although it was a little simpler taking you along my internship journey, I am really looking forward to writing about whatever I want.

FUTURE:

  1. In the beginning of April I will be making my next trip out to Arizona. I think we are going to go see the Grand Canyon!
  2. On May 22nd, 2010, I will be attending my Graduation Ceremony at the Dunkin’ Donuts Center in Providence to earn my Associate’s Degree in Culinary Arts. My family and friends are coming up to celebrate and I could not be happier. I have worked really hard to get to this point and I hope that it will be a perfect spark to my future filled with cooking, traveling, and writing.
  3. I just realized that after I graduate there is not much of anything written in stone for me, yet. There are a lot of minor goals that I want to achieve before reaching my major goal of someday becoming a well renowned food writer, and I need to figure out what path is going to guide me there the best. Sometimes I wish that these things were given to you, written down, in a list format, telling you here is where you need to go to be successful. I have always been a believer in everything happening for a reason, but right now I feel so overwhelmed with places I want to work, places I want to travel, and things that I just want to do for myself that I am lost.

I guess, for now, all that I can really say is that this is life and I am only human. No matter what, nobody can stop me from laughing, running, and eating the greatest foods I can find. And more importantly, I will not stop working and fighting my way through the ups and downs of this industry until I feel that I have gone as far as I can personally go.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Back to School for SammyRoo

  1. Chris Leotsakos

    Hey Sam! Sounds like you have been busy, good for you! I didn’t know you had a blog until it popped up on my Facebook home page and I was curious…So I checked it out. Pretty cool! Food writing is an amazing thing…if you can right, which is why I leave it to the people like you! Haha, I’ll see you around school!

    Chris L.

Leave a Reply

