Pan Seared Lemon Chicken with Broccoli and Whole Wheat Sketties


Lately, I have been going through this “lemon and protein” obsession phase.

My roommate, as she headed out the door, let me know that she had marinaded chicken in the fridge and since she was going home for a few days it was all mine. I completely jumped on that opportunity. I was rummaging around looking for the bottle of marinade to see what was in it, but had no luck. When I took the lid off of the container I instantly got a pleasant lemon and garlic aroma and that was all I needed to get to work. While I was waiting for the couple of tablespoons of olive oil to heat in my pan, I put the marinaded chicken breast into a little plastic baggy, pounded it out a bit to make it a little more even, and trimmed off the excess fat. I had the oil at a solid “ripple” stage because I wanted to get a good sear on both sides. I love when theres that crust factor on the outside of chicken, steak, pork, etc.

I had angry chicken tonight. It decided it was going to splurt oil on me and I was not thrilled.

While the chicken was in the pan I quickly grabbed about a cup of frozen broccoli and steamed it in the microwave with a dash of water.

Before.

After. I have grown a whole new respect for frozen vegetables after my first apartment experience.

A few days ago I wanted pasta so I decided to just cook the entire pound of whole wheat spaghetti a bit underdone and keep the rest in the fridge. It makes it so much easier to be able to take a handful and throw it into the pan with whatever you are cooking it with. Just make sure you cook it pretty underdone or else it will be way too soft when you reheat it. I love my pasta super al dente.

NOTE: Also, you might want to toss the pasta in a little bit of oil before storing it or else it will all stick together!

After the chicken was finished, I added an additional tablespoon or so of olive oil as well as a tablespoon of butter, a couple tablespoons of lemon juice, a splash of white wine, salt, and pepper and let it reduce a bit. Finally I added the broccoli and pasta, sliced the chicken, and plated!

I added a dash of parmesan because I wanted to. The chicken was incredible. It was so juicy and tender I could cut it with my fork and the little “zing” that came from the lemon sauce was perfect with the broccoli and pasta. I was so excited after I made this and it only took about 20 minutes! I love when things go right.

I’m aware I got a bit carried away with my plating, but I just wanted to make it special for you guys! Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Lemon Chicken with Broccoli

4 responses to “Pan Seared Lemon Chicken with Broccoli and Whole Wheat Sketties

  1. mama b

    looks great! glad you were able to conquer the “angry chicken”!

  2. Lisa

    What a great, innovative way to use left-overs. I find I get in a rut and use what is left from one particular meal just to recreate the same meal again. I love your way of incorporating bits of a few meals to come up with something brand “spankin’ new!”

    Wheat pasta is in my pantry regularly now…I am going to try this meal for my kiddos!

    Thanks!

  3. mike

    Haha I thought this said whole weat skittles, then I was like wait sketties not skittles haha

Leave a Reply

